Welcome to Ernakulam Shiva Temple

Ernakulam Shiva Temple, also known as Ernakulathappan Temple is one of the major temples of Kerala, located in heart of Ernakulam, the downtown area of the city of Kochi. The temple, dedicated to Lord Shiva, is considered as the city temple, with the presiding deity as the protector of the city, as per local Hindu faiths and traditions. As per the common practice in Kerala, the deity is reverently called Ernakulathappan, which means Lord of Ernakulam. The temple is located within the Durbar Hall Ground. The temple history itself has deep association with history of the city and was one of the 7 royal temples of Kochi Maharajas. The temple is now under administration of Cochin Devasom Board. The temple in its current form was built under active patronage of Diwan Sri Edakkunni Sankara Warrier in year 1846 and raised it level of a Royal temple in the Kochi Kingdom. The temple is built on 1-acre (4,000 m2) land. The temple is one of the major Shiva temples in Kerala counted along with the Ettumanoor Mahadevar Temple, Kaduthruthy Mahadeva Temple, Vaikom Temple, Chengannur Mahadeva Temple and Vadakkunathan temple.

Poojas and Offerings

Nadathurakkal and Nirmalyam - 3.30 AM Abishekam - 4.00 to 4.45 AM

Legend behind the temple

Arjuna, the pandava performs a severe penance to propitiate Lord Shiva.

Ernakulam Kshetra Kshema Samithi

Ernakulam Kshetra Kshema Samithi is a registered charitable organisation by the..

News Updates
  • Ulsavam 2023

    Dravyakalashabhishekham rituals on 23rd Jan 2023 (1198 Makaram 9).
    Ulsavam 2023 starts with Kodiyettam (hoisting of the temple flag) on the first day evening of - Jan 24th 2023 Tuesday (1198 Makaram 10)
    Brahmakalashabhishekham will be conducted on Jan 26th 2023 (1198 Makaram 12) morning 7 AM.
    Cheriyavillakku on 31st Jan 2023 (1198 Makaram 17)
    Arattu on 2nd Feb 2023 (1198 Makaram 19)

Kshetra Samithi Projects

Annadanam (Prasada Oottu) for Ulsavam to all devotees is arranged on the following days:
3rd February - Monday
4th February - Tuesday
5th February - Wednesday
6th February - Thursday